New on Kindle: Black Friday!

And now for a long reel of new science fiction and fantasy (and related) on the Kindle, because it just isn’t the day after Thanksgiving without consumer consumption.

Also, I’ve started covering offerings from Webscriptions, which includes books from Baen, Nightshade Books, and Subterranean Press.

Paul of Dune by Brian Herbert And Kevin J. Anderson

Buy: Kindle Store

Don’t you want another volume in the Dune series? Of course you do. The story covers the MuadDib jihad between Frank Herbert’s Dune and Dune Messiah (e.g., Paul Takes Over the World).

You can also watch a video interview with the authors.

Fools’ Experiments by Edward M. Lerner

Buy: Kindle Store

In a near future world, artificial intelligence developed for controlling prosthetic limbs and otherwise controlling human/machine interactions, evolves consciousness. This is almost always a bad thing.

Lerner also has another book available on the Kindle, Fleet of Worlds, a prequel to Larry Niven’s classic Ringworld.

The Gods Return by David Drake

Buy: Kindle Store or Webscriptions

The third volume of the Crown of the Isles series, which began with The Fortress of Glass.

The Lord-Protector’s Daughter by L. E. Modesitt

Buy: Kindle Store

The latest volume of the fantasy series The Corean Chronicles, which is almost entirely on the Kindle as of this writing. The previous books in order:

Halo: The Cole Protocol by Tobias S. Buckell

Buy: Kindle Store

Covering the first days of the Human-Covenent War in the world of your very favorite first-person-shooter science fiction space opera video game, from the viewpoint of one Lieutenant Jacob Keyes.

Please give Mr. Buckell your good wishes, as he is at this time in the hospital with a pulmonary embolism, second in the Surprising Secrets of Tobias S. Buckell’s Heart series.

Also by Tobias S. Buckell: Crystal Rain and Sly Mongoose.

Princeps’ Fury by Jim Butcher

Buy: Kindle Store

This is an early surprise: the fifth book in Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series, has come out on the Kindle and in press.

Other books in this series:

The Crown by Deborah Chester

Buy: Kindle Store

A continuation of The Ruby Throne series, featuring the story of Lea, sister to Emperor Caelan Light Bringer. The first half of this story is available on the Kindle: The Pearls.

Deryni Checkmate by Katherine Kurtz

Buy: Kindle Store

The second book in the first cycle of the Deryni series, which includes Deryni Rising (previous) and High Deryni (next).

The Last Battle by Chris Bunch

Buy: Kindle Store

The third book in the Dragonmaster trilogy, the second being Knighthood of the Dragon.

Seraphs by Faith Hunter

Buy: Kindle Store

Second in the Rogue Mage series, now completing the Kindle set of Bloodring (book 1) and Host (book 3).

Elric: The Sleeping Sorceress by Michael Moorcock

Buy: Kindle Store

It’s Elric. It’s Michael Moorcock. It’s a new edition of a classic tale of the Eternal Champion. With extras.

Other Elric books available on the Kindle:

The Engine’s Child by Holly Phillips

Buy: Kindle Store

According to Meredith Schwartz in Library Journal: “Her lush prose and dark fantasy cityscape will appeal to fans of China Mieville’s Perdido Street Station and Sarah Monette’s Melusine, but her manipulative, scarred, sexual, unapologetic antiheroine recalls Elizabeth Bear or Melissa Scott.”

Phillips has also been compared to Jeff VanderMeer. All this tends to spell WIN for me. How about you?

On the Prowl: Tales of an Urban Werewolf by Karen Macinerney

Buy: Kindle Store

It’s a werewolf romance—and the protagonist here is the werewolf. Her perfect life begins to fall apart when she suspects her boyfriend of philandering ((Note to philandering boyfriends: your significant other being a werewolf tends to give such games away.)), a Texas millionaire client begins to exude a strange hold over her, and the Houston wolf pack shows up on her doorstep demanding union dues.

Starfist: Force Recon: Recoil by David Sherman And Dan Cragg

Buy: Kindle Store

Military colonial science fiction, the most recent book in the second cycle of the successful Starfist series, preceded by Backshot and Pointblank.

The very first two Starfist books are available as one bundle:
First to Fight/School of Fire.

Many more Starfist books are available on the Kindle.

Night Shadow by Cherry Adair

Buy: Kindle Store

The conclusion to Adair’s paranormal romance trilogy, which started with Night Fall and continued with Night Secrets.

Succubus Takes Manhattan by Nina Harper

Buy: Kindle Store

Sex in the City. With demons—in particular, a succubus who works for Satan and is searching for true love to free her. The sequel to Succubus in the City.

Queen of Oblivion by Giles Carwyn And Todd Fahnestock

Buy: Kindle Store

The conclusion to the fantasy Heartstone trilogy, wherein the Heir of Autumn must stop a ruthless enchantress from destroying the world. The trilogy started with Heir of Autumn and continued with Mistress of Winter.

Warriors: Power of Three #5: Long Shadows by Erin Hunter

Buy: Kindle Store

The latest in the third mini-series of the highly successful Young Adult fantasy books that follow the adventures of four clans of wild cats.

The entire series has been released on Kindle, with six books per mini-series. The first mini-series begins with Into the Wild; the second, The New Prophecy, begins with Midnight; the third, Power of Three, started with Sight.

A brand new series in the same vein, but this time covering three bears, has started with Seekers.

The Bride and the Beast by Teresa Medeiros

Buy: Kindle Store

A humorous, light romantic fantasy that recasts the tale of Beauty and the Beast with an imperfect heroine (irreverent and overweight) and a dragon (wounded and gentlemanly).

She has another book below….

A Kiss to Remember by Teresa Medeiros

Buy: Kindle Store

A humorous, light romantic comedy that recasts the tale of Sleeping Beauty in a more complex mold, with a man as the sleeping beauty (but not how you think), a woman who wishes vengeance upon him, and a woman who loves him. And the last two are the same woman.

I think this technically isn’t fantasy, because there appears to be no magic or fantastic beasts involved. But I included it anyways, because it seems fun and it’s a reprint of an otherwise unavailable book.

Strength and Honor by R.M. Meluch

Buy: Kindle Store

Military science fiction, and the sequel to The Sagittarius Command.

Star Trek: Destiny: Lost Souls by David Mack

Buy: Kindle Store

Soldiers of Armageddon who lay waste to worlds in their passage, unstoppable save for actions unthinkable to Starfleet captains. Or are they so unthinkable? See Captains Picard, Riker, and Dax struggle with their choices.

Lexi by L.S. Matthews

Buy: Kindle Store

Through a fair amount of Googling, I’ve determined that Lexi is YA fantasy-but-it-might-not-be-fantasy-kind-of-fantasy. A girl wakes up in the woods, remembering nothing before that, with a silver key. She finds shelter, and rediscovers a life she never knew bit by bit.

Fish Out of Water by Maryjanice Davidson

Buy: Kindle Store

Third in a series featuring a cranky mermaid named Fred, a hidden civilization of mer-people, a mer-prince, and her marine biologist friend Thomas.

The second book, Swimming Without a Net, is also available for the Kindle.

Magic Tree House #30: Haunted Castle on Hallow’s Eve by Mary Pope Osborne And Sal Murdocca

Buy: Kindle Store

The first of the 42 Magic Treehouse books to make it onto the Kindle, and part of the “Merlin’s Missions” second cycle.

Perfect Circle by Carlos J. Cortes

Buy: Kindle Store

A geologist is hired by a corrupt company to discover secrets beneath a rain forest, which turn out to be a miracle that might save the planet from the ecological crisis it’s currently headed down the maw of. But the company is corrupt, you know.

The Oracle’s Queen by Lynn Flewelling

Buy: Kindle Store

The third book in the Tamír Triad, where the main character is a woman who’s been hidden with a man’s body in the person of Prince Tobin for years. The second book, Hidden Warrior, is also available on the Kindle.

Lord of the Shadows by Jennifer Fallon

Buy: Kindle Store

The third book in the The Second Sons Trilogy. The first two books, The Lion of Senet and Eye of the Labyrinth, are both available in the Kindle store.

Faerie Tale by Raymond Feist

Buy: Kindle Store

A malevolent spirit in the forest brings supernatural mayhem and horror to the home of a family on the edge of its woods.

Feist is more famous for his fantasy, in particular the Riftwar Cycle. The earliest available in the series on the Kindle is the first half of a duology, Prince of the Blood.

Every trilogy after this duology is complete on the Kindle, however, starting with The Serpentwar Saga:

After the War: Two Tales of Noreela by Tim Lebbon

Buy: Webscriptions or Amazon Hardcover

From Subterranean Press; two novellas set in the world of Noreela:

  • Vale of Blood Roses
  • The Bajuman

Cryptic by Jack McDevitt

Buy: Webscriptions

The best short stories of Jack McDevitt, who writes the popular far-future Alex Benedict detective series.

Laughin’ Boy by Bradley Denton

Buy: Webscriptions or Amazon Hardcover

Here are sample chapters. I can’t describe it well enough to do it justice.

Screaming Science Fiction: Horrors from Out of Space by Brian Lumley

Buy: Webscriptions or Amazon Hardcover

Science fiction horror stories and novella (think Weird Science or Weird Fantasy magazines) by Brian Lumley.

Sample chapters includes the first story, “Snarker’s Son”.

The Best of Michael Swanwick by Michael Swanwick

Buy: Webscriptions or Amazon Hardcover

His award-winning short stories, covering the last quarter-century from “The Feast of Saint Janis” all the way to “The Dog Said Bow-Wow” and “From Babel’s Fall’n Glory…”.

Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded by John Scalzi

Buy: Webscriptions or Kindle Store

The best columns of John Scalzi’s Whatever blog from the last ten years, starting with a wonderful and short treatise on hate mail. Hilarious and sharp, there’s a reason Whatever pulls hundreds of thousands of hits every week.

His famous earlier book, collecting the writing-orientated posts of Whatever, is also available via Webscriptions: You’re Not Fooling Anyone When You Take Your Laptop to a Coffee Shop. I actually reviewed it back in 2007, and favorably so.

Scalzi is also famous for the Old Man’s War series.

Advertisements